Bobby Neel Adams

Bobby Neel Adams was born in Black Mountain, North Carolina and Currently lives in Arizona on the Mexico Border. He has exhibited worldwide and his photographs are in the International Center for Photography, NY, Houston Museum of Fine Arts, Station Museum, diRosa Foundation, and the Norton Fam . The work his currently doing consists of series of Memento Mori photographs of insects, birds, and mammals.

Intentions

For my work I would like to do something similar to the work of Bobby Neel Adams, my idea is to use my subject James from a previous shoot and his Grandad and add them together.

“Age maps”

I like these images as i believe they could be featured in a old scrap book and looks like a photomontage. I also think it is very interesting to see how a person changes as they age and how similar family can look.

“Family tree”

I will be looking at 2 pieces of his family tree and age maps. as this relates to my current topic, of image morphing The one above (Age maps) focuses on the same person one half of the picture younger and other when he was older. whereas family tree focuses on relatives instead of the same person.

Distorted Portrait

This is my response to Bobby Neel Adams work
I first added both images into photoshop one being a picture of james and the other his grandad both my subjects. i then used james photo to create a layer mask.
I then began to use the layer mask to add half of james faces in to create this part of the image.
I then searched online for a rip effect download to add to photoshop, which is similar to Bobby Neel Adams photos
I then began to add it as a brush layer and apply it on the face
i each time changed the angle of the brush to make it looked ripped, this became the final image.

Evaluation

Overall Im not very happy with this image, as i was unable to get the correct brush tool from photoshop as i had to search online for a ripped type (which took a long time) And i couldn’t find the right size, due to my knowledge of photoshop lacking. i also believe it doesn’t look very good, and quite fake.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started